Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Tunbridge Wells Hockey Club app


Men's 1st XI - Match centre

Tunbridge Wells Hockey Club
Sun 19 May 16:00 - Cup Full time

Men's 1s beat Marden 4-1 to secure Kent Cup


TWHC win Kent Cup for first time with goals from Ant, Cam, James (Beck) and Ben

Wells deservedly won the Kent Cup for the first time in our history with a hard-earned win against a determined Marden side at Holcombe Park.

Wells had the majority of possession and worked hard to create clear cut chances. They duly took the lead when Ant tapped home on the far post after an incisive run into the D from Sam. Whilst Wells dominated play and created several chances, Marden looked dangerous on the counter and with just the single goal lead, Wells had Bomber to thank for a couple of important stops to preserve the lead at half time and a crucial early block in the second period.

Wells’ persistence paid off as Sam’s skills again troubled the Marden defence, forcing a penalty corner. Ben’s initial strike was well saved, but Cam followed up to fire into the roof of the net and give Wells the all important two goal cushion.

Kent Cup Final
15 photos

Good work from James Lester and Sam again saw Wells win a further penalty corner, this time James Beck firing home to make the score 3-0. Marden had not given up, however, and a misplaced defensive clearance a few moments later allowed a quick one two on the edge of the Wells circle before the Marden striker finished with a fantastic strike into the roof of the net that gave Bomber no chance. Marden’s hopes of a come-back were quickly stifled, however, as Kyle and Sam again combined down the Wells left before the ball was passed to Ben in front of goal, from where he made no mistake to make the score 4-1 and ensure the Kent Cup would be coming to the Nevill for the first time.

Well done to everyone involved and thanks for the wonderful support from all who came to cheer on the TWHC sides on Sunday.

Videos and photos

Kent Cup Final
15 photos
Kent Cup Final

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.


Loading comments

Team sponsors


Club sponsors